Three Things Thursday – XII

Have you guys seen the TED Talk by Mark Cutts on Trying Something New for 30 Days? If you haven’t then check it out – it will only take a grand total of 3 minutes and 27 seconds of your time. I saw it recently and I began to think about what I would like to try for 30 days and came up with the three below. These are small things – I highly doubt I will write a book over 30 days (he does) – but I thought that this week I would share them with you.

What would you try for 30 days?

Thing One: Ab Challenge

It seems that every other person I know is doing a 30-day fitness challenge and for that reason alone I wasn’t very interested in them. Sometimes fads can be a little off putting you know. Then I realized that although I doubt that the challenges will deliver dramatic results it still doesn’t hurt to have some kind of exercise in my daily routine because at this point an hour at the gym is just not seeming doable. I am now on Day 7 of the Abs Challenge and although my sit ups are pretty laughable – ‘hunch ups’ at best – I feel my core getting a little stronger. Here’s to keeping at it for the next 23 days!

Thing Two: Read Baby Read

As far back as I can remember I have loved reading, it made apartment living in Saudi Arabia much more pleasurable because it opened up so many different worlds for me. I don’t read anymore and I truly miss it. I have decided to read 40 pages a day at least and made a bit of a reading list for myself. So far I have the following and am very open to suggestions!

* The Glass Castle – Jeanette Walls
* The Principles of Uncertainty – Maira Kalman
* Age of Wonder – Richard Holmes
* Me Talk Pretty One Day – David Sedaris
* Ten Thousand Saints – Eleanor Henderson
*A Walk Across the Sun – Corban Addison
* The Devil all the Time – Donald Ray Pollock
* No God but God – Reza Aslan

Thing Three:  5 ‘Me’ Minutes a Day

I am notoriously  bad at taking care of myself – my hands and feet are always dry, the lotion I bought for my face will last for over a year (and it’s a small bottle), and I frequently forget to take make up off before I sleep. So for the next 30 days I am going to try to spend at least 5 minutes every day doing something along those lines. I am hoping the habit will stick. Fingers crossed.

Okay that’s all from me – don’t forget to check out the fabulous Three Things Thursday hosts Salma at The Write Balance, Raj at Pink Chai Living, and Nisha at Love Laugh Mirch.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday – XII

  1. I haven’t seen that TED talk (yet) but I love that idea! I’ve really been wanting to work on my core, but my sit-ups are pretty sad too – you’ve motivated me to try though. Maybe I will join you on the Ab Challenge.

    PS: You must wash the makeup off your face before bed! #badgirl lol!

    • Do it!!! Lol I say this despite the fact that I still can’t do a little sit up – on the plus side my 10 degree incline up has become a solid 30 degrees. lol

      • was about to add it to my list then realized I have already read it! I really enjoyed that book – anything else that you’d recommend?

    • It’s been so long since I read. I’m currently reading The Distant Hour by Kate Morton.

      I had asked on FB for some suggestions and a former co-worker sent me this list:

      The Forgotten Garden (Kate Morton – her others are good, too)
      Labyrinth (Kate Mosse – first of a trilogy)
      The Snow Child (Eowyn Ivey)
      Moloka’i (Alan Brennert)
      The Language of Flowers (Vanessa Diffenbaugh)
      A Spot of Bother (Mark Haddon)
      Above All Things (Tanis Rideout)
      The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Mary Ann Schaffer)
      So Much for That (Lionel Shriver)
      American Wife (Curtis Sittenfeld)
      anything by Mary Lawson, Lawrence Hill, Ann-Marie MacDonald or Frances Itani

      I totally forgot about this list..will make my way through it soon 🙂 Insha’Allah.

  2. Oh my gosh, I can totally relate to all your 3 challenges! I love the ab challenge (what’s exactly involved?) I miss reading so much too!! And I totally need to take care of myself more too. I’m exactly the same with lotion and cleaning my face at night. Good luck with the challenge, I may have to join in 🙂

  3. Pingback: Three Things Thursday – XIII | Flour and Spice

  4. Pingback: 3 Things Thursday - Week 14 | TheWriteBalance.ca - One Mom's Quest For The Perfect Balance

Leave a comment