Crunchy Chocolate Chip Coconut Granola Bars

As it warms up we are out and about a lot more and I like to have snacks on hand that don’t have an unpronounceable list of ingredients. My last granola bar attempt was a total disaster and I ended up with a sickly sweet mess. Now thanks to Ninja Naan I have a recipe that works! It has a few ingredients and is so quick to make. The coconut flavour is subtle- it basically adds a wholesome chewiness to an otherwise crunchy bar. If you want to amp it up then use coconut extract instead of the vanilla. I halved the original recipe to make them in a 9*9 pan. Not sure why I keep doing that since I have made it twice in the last week!

IMG_1766

Crunchy Chocolate Chip and Coconut Granola Bars
Makes 8 bars

1 ¼ cup quick oats
¼ cup Rice Krispies cereal
¼ cup brown sugar
¼ cup coconut oil
¼ cup chocolate chips
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp shredded coconut
¼  tsp vanilla
¼ tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350.

IMG_1722

Line a square pan with foil (easier clean up and cutting). Mix all the ingredients together with a spatula or just scrunch them together with clean hands. Transfer the mix to a pan, packing the mixture in with slightly damp hands. This is very important if you want your bars to stay together. Bake for 18 minutes; score the bars when they first come out of the oven. If the mixture looks crumbly then press it gently again and the melted chocolate chips will help it bind together even more. Cool completely then cut.

IMG_1777

 

IMG_1739

10 thoughts on “Crunchy Chocolate Chip Coconut Granola Bars

  1. This looks great. I’ve sworn off buying granola bars and have been making my own for about a year. I’ve tried all sorts of combinations and haven’t come across a bad one as yet, and I feel great that I know exactly what is in it. I want to try this soon and am thinking about a big granola bar post with a roundup of all my favourites around the web. I have a feeling this one may make the cut 🙂

    • That’s a great question. Where do you live – I can tell you what’s easily available that would work? Rice Krispies or similar rice cereals work best because of their texture

Leave a comment